Glycolic Peel Treatment + My Experience+ Tips

Hey everyone, I am currently undergoing treatment for my bacne. I have had enough of those breakouts and even those ugly scarring it has left behind. So while I completed my initial course of treatment which treated all the active regions on my back, I am now undergoing treatment for the scarring. Since i will start work soon, My dermatologist suggested I should do a chemical peel so that I need not venture out in the sun and cause it to scald my sensitive skin. I hope this article will help ladies who are interested in trying out peels and wondering on how to go about it.

Chemical Peel

Chemical Peel Treatment + My exoerience

What Is a Chemical/Glycolic Peel ?

Glycolic peel is a type of chemical peel used to improve and smooth the texture of the skin using a chemical solution that causes the dead skin to soften and eventually peel off. The regenerated skin is usually smoother and less wrinkled than the old skin. There are several types of chemical peels like Alpha and Beta hydroxy acid peels, Jessner’s peel, Retinoic acid peel etc. Glycolic peel is again a type of Alpha hydroxy acid peel [AHA] which are are naturally occurring carboxylic acids.

AHAs are derived from fruits and are basically of 5 different types: Citric acids (citrus-derived), glycolic acid (derived from sugar cane), lactic acid (although derived from milk, this is still considered a “fruit acid”), malic acid (derived from apples) and tartaric acid (derived from grapes). AHA is the mildest of the peel formulas and is used for treatment of mild wrinkles, dryness, pigmentation and acne.

Glycolic acid is a natural constituent of sugar cane juice and lactic acid, found in sour milk and tomato juice. This acid creates a mild exfoliating action and works by loosening and exfoliating the top layer.

Glycolic acid peel works by loosening the glue-like substance that binds skin cells together, allowing the outer layers of skin to slough off. Following a glycolic peel treatment, skin may initially appear red and burned, but once the peeling process is complete, the patient’s face looks smoother, fresher, and more even in tone. Glycolic acid peel is used to reveal a more youthful complexion.Glycolic peel treatments from a dermatologist usually begin at 20% and work up gradually to a concentration as high as 70%

Benefits of a Glycolic Peel

• Significantly reduces hyperpigmentation.
• Significantly reduces acne scars.
• Significantly reduces superficial premature wrinkles.
• Stimulates collagen and elastin.
• Normal activities can resume after treatment.

glycolic+acid+peel1

I guess that’s enough about the scientific aspect of it. Now, coming to my own experience undergoing the glycolic peel, read on:

price

I paid RS 1500 for one setting in Mumbai

My Experince

Like I said i am getting my back treated and not my face. Before I began my sitting I was told to stop using all the acne treatments I was undergoing for my back(I was using Benzoyl Peroxide Creamy Wash 4% and Glyaha-Koj Lotion). The very first was consulting a reputing dermatologist. I mean it when I say else you will end burning your skin. Try and avoid experiments done in local small time parlours. Okay so coming to how I did it and its effect on me – first the doctor told me I will need 2 sittings and not more than that since the scarring is mild. I went ahead with the treatment and the first thing she did was cleant my back with a mild foam(I think I saw Cetaphil – not sure) after which she started applying glycolic acid all over my back with a sponge. Based on my skin type, it was left for 15-20 minutes and then a neutralizer was applied before washing the face with water.No soap or cream other than a prescribed sunscreen should be used on the skin for at least 48 hours.  After the peel, the skin should not be exposed to sun for at least 2-3 days, so plan accordingly and believe me, umbrellas and sunscreens don’t help if you go out in sun after the peel. So, plan to stay at home and avoid soap for 2-3 days.

So after the treatment was done, my skin was literally red in color,but it subsided very quickly. Over the next 2-3 days my skin was peeling like crazy. I mean I was scared as I have seen pics of peels going wrong & yes I could see resemblance in many 😦 . Throughout I was washing my face with a mild face wash given by her & every 3 hours I would apply a sunscreen with high SPF content during the day time. As the 3rd day begun I noticed my back was way clearer and brighter. It had very faint spots and no discoloration at all. I was amazed with the results & I am really glad I went in for it keeping aside fears of my skin burning due to reactions & stuff 🙂

Also if you want to do it by yourself at home then you can try HOME KITS  freely available in the market.

Recommendations:

For anyone planning to get peels done, I suggest the following steps:

  • Research very well, consult a good doctor on your skin type and if peels are advisable (not advisable for sensitive skin, so make sure you don’t skip this part).
  • Doctors and salon stylists always will suggest high dosage of acid to get fast and visible results. Though no permanent damage will happen if any reactions set in, I would suggest you ask for a mild dosage like 5-10% glycolic peel to start with to see how this works for you.
  • If you have time and patience, try out the home peel kits before you visit a salon or doctor as this is definitely safer and you can see how this peel can work for you.

Hope this was helpful for you all 🙂

14 thoughts on “Glycolic Peel Treatment + My Experience+ Tips

    • Thank You 🙂 I agree it really transformed my skin. Paula’s Choice sounds good, I will give it a try if I can lay my hands on it , thank you once again for sharing this info 🙂 :*

    • Hi Donatella 🙂 I am so glad you found this post helpful. Peels work so much better when compared to topical & oral treatments, and when done right by a pro can give amazing results 🙂 Thank you for reading.

  1. Wow i didnt know chemical peels would be so much effective!!! I only thought about them as chemicals.. But these sure did help i think. Thanks for your review & Info on them 🙂

  2. Pingback: Outfit of the day #2 ;- Semi Formal Wear | MacElina
    • Hi , I am 20 years old undergoing this treatment for my back, so I don’t think age matters unless you are an adult 🙂 But please don’t risk on going to less reputed docs, this can have serious side effects too like burns and more scarring and even if you have sensitive skin. Usually the facial skin is very sensitive and this treatment has a lot for aftercare like not stepping in the sun for some days and applying sunscreen the whole day so on.

Leave a Reply

